Throughout the past two years, 30 percent of North Carolina public school teachers have consistently missed 10 or more days during the annual school year.  What might have seemed to be a coincidental occurrence at first, is now becoming a new trend surrounding North Carolina public school teachers. This trend is known as chronic absenteeism. The video below has informed me on how chronic absenteeism has significantly effected me within the school system I grew up in. Within the Alamance-Burlington School System, 86 percent of teachers miss at least 10 days of school. This statistic does not come as a shock to me due to how often I had a substitute teacher in a least one of my class each week, if not in multiple classes. I hope that this trend will slowly come to a halt in hopes of bettering the relationships between teachers and students to ensure a better education for all.

 

http://www.wral.com/more-than-30-percent-of-nc-public-school-teachers-deemed-chronically-absent/16515228/

 

 

